More on June 22, 2020 Presidential Proclamation 10052

On June 22, 2020, President Trump signed a Presidential Proclamation restricting entry of certain foreign nationals into the United States because of the Covid-19 outbreak. The Proclamation suspends and limits entry of H-1B, H-2B, certain J-1 (interns, trainees, teachers, camp counselors, au pair, or summer work travel), and L-1 workers, and their accompanying dependents. The restriction is effective from June 24 through December 31, 2020.


The measure applies only to foreign nationals outside the U.S. without a valid nonimmigrant visa on the effective date. The measure initially appeared to exempt those who held any type of visa that was valid on June 24, but a later amendment on June 29 limited the exemption to those with valid visas in the same category for which they are seeking entry.


The Proclamation exempts those already in the U.S. It also exempts those outside the U.S. with valid visas in the same category for which they are seeking entry.

National Interest Exceptions

For H-1B or L-1 workers, exceptions apply for travel as a public health or healthcare professional, or researcher to alleviate the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic, or to conduct ongoing medical research with a substantial public health benefit. Exceptions also apply to those seeking entry to provide temporary labor or services essential to the U.S. food supply or travel supported by an agency request to meet U.S. foreign policy objectives. National interest exceptions are also available for those seeking entry in H-4, L-2, or J-2 status if they will be accompanying or following to join a spouse or parent who is not subject to the Proclamation.

Please contact a D&G attorney with questions on the scope of this Presidential Proclamation.